SharePoint Online: You must check out this item before making changes. Do you want to check out this item now?

Recently one of my clients said, in one of the document library in SharePoint Online, it is asking to check out before modification, but in another document library it is not asking. The message it is showing as “You must check out this item before making changes. Do you want to check out this item now?” It shows like below:

You must check out this item before making changes. Do you want to check out this item now?
You must check out this item before making changes. Do you want to check out this item now?

You must check out this item before making changes

We need to change the Require Check Out option. For this: Open document library settings page and then click on Versioning settings which is under General Settings.

you must check out this item before making changes
you must check out this item before making changes

Then in the Versioning Settings page, go to the “Require Check Out” option and choose “No” for “Require documents to be checked out before they can be edited?“. It should look like below:

require documents to be checked out before they can be edited
Require documents to be checked out before they can be edited

After this setting, it will not ask to check out the file before modification.

You may like following SharePoint document library tutorials:

This SharePoint Online tutorial, we learned how to fix error, You must check out this item before making changes. Do you want to check out this item now?

>